Multiple Sclerosis and CCSVI

I’ve still been reading about the new developments in the MS controversy —autoimmune or vascular…or both…or ??? I mean, what the hell? People are hurting! Even the ones who look like me. You know, the ones who look like nothing is wrong. Well, there is something wrong. It’s called “I-can’t-live-my-life-the-way-I-want”-itis.
After reading the article today that explained some findings about the connection between chronic low-grade hypoxia and fatigue (calling it what it really is = Exhaustion, with a capital E), I think I might be able to be fixed with the liberation treatment. I mean I’m really ready to believe that this may be a GREAT BIG ANSWER!! Yes, it may be MY ANSWER! I’ve been tentative…not wanting to get my hopes up too high; affected by the naysayers and doubters more than I care to admit. But now I am ready to pursue this FOR ME. Before I go on and on about me, I’m going to post a link to the article that you need to read. Maybe several links. There’ll be time to talk about me later. (insert emoticon that gives a gigantic wink)

THE FOLLOWING IS FROM FACEBOOK GROUP CALLED “CCSVI in MS”:

Study on Brain Changes in MS and Depression—looks like hypoxia (again)

Share

Today at 2:43pm
There’s an article and podcast in Scientific American this week regarding a new study. It looks at brain changes in pwMS who have depression. The researchers found on MRI that the hippocampus is smaller in pwMS, and that the HPA axis (the neuroendocrine system which regulates stress and other functions) is hyperactive.

Well, duh. That’s what we’ve been saying on here for almost a year. If you have chronic hypoxic insult (meaning an ongoing lack of adequate oxygen) to your brain, you’re going to have depression. And you’ll also have a smaller hippocampus and a hyperactive HPA axis.

Here’s the link and podcast
http://www.scientificamerican.com/podcast/episode.cfm?id=the-connection-between-multiple-scl-10-07-03

For those who have been following my writings on hypoxic injury to the brain, slowed perfusion and slowed mean transit time as studied in pwMS, you’ll know that there are many studies in the literature showing that there is a slower transit of blood in the brains in MS. It takes longer for blood to get out of the MS brain (venous stenosis, anyone?) This means it takes longer for oxygenated blood to get into the brain. This slowed transit of blood leads to lower oxygenation of brain tissue.

Those why hypoxic injury show atrophy of the hippocampus and hyperactive HPA axis. JUST LIKE pw MS!!!

Here are some studies to back this up:
Several reports suggest that the activity of the hypothalamo-pituitary-adrenal axis (HPA-axis) is increased following hypoxia/ischaemia and that this might be associated with increased neuronal vulnerability

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/7496805

Hypoxia damages multiple organ systems especially those with high oxygen utilization such as the central nervous system. The purpose of this study was to compare the neuropathological and neuropsychological effects of hypoxia in patients with either carbon monoxide poisoning or obstructive sleep apnea. Neuroimaging revealed evidence of hippocampal atrophy in both groups…
http://journals.cambridge.org/action/displayAbstract;jsessionid=5D1BB4D8DC4AFE6AF2B8C57D4D9F32BB.tomcat1?fromPage=online&aid=195135

I talked about this at length with Dr. Haacke last year. I know that he and Dr. Hubbard are looking at oxygenation levels in pwMS before and after angioplasty using fMRI BOLD technology, and they are finding that patients indeed have lower oxygen levels in their brains before, and better oxygenation after.

This chronic, low-level hypoxic injury is what I believe caused my husband’s first MS flare. He was at high altitude for a week, and came home with a numb left side. His brain just couldn’t take the additional low oxygen situation. That’s when he got an MS diagnosis. I believe this is why people who live in Colorado (and other high elevation locations) have higher MS rates. I’m not a rocket-scientist, I have a bachelors of music degree, and this seems really obvious to me. Why isn’t the Rocky Mountain MS Society testing the brain oxygenation levels of their patients???

The pieces fit together when we look at MS as a disease of chronic venous insufficiency.
If ordinary people like you and me can see this…isn’t it time for the medical profession to see it, too?

Joan

3 thoughts on “Multiple Sclerosis and CCSVI

  1. Pingback: Mental Disorders 101

  2. Many MS patients show signs and symptoms of ischemia, that is decreased blood flow and oxygen to the brain but it is most likely caused by high altitudes but exacerbated by it. What’s more, some MS patients actually report feeling better at higher altitudes. It seems the higher up they go the better they feel. This is interesting because higher altitudes are associated with lower barometric pressure and gravity. There may be a connection. Venous drainage issues is just one part of the problem and the blockage is most likely in vertebral veins not jugular routes. Please visit my website for more information on CCSVI and send me your questions and comments. Hope for MS patients is on the horizon and CCSVI sits right on the horizon.

Leave a Reply

